The Bigger Picture

25 Mar

There are a lot of young girls, who become women, as well as boys that become men, believing it’s their duty to please everyone. Their confidence level is based on other people’s perception of them. Well I hate to break it to you but that is NOT TRUE. A person that exudes confidence does not need others approval to make a decision, or to satisfy ones self. A person with confidence can find happiness within themselves 90% of the time and make decisions that they need or want for themselves. I used to be a person like those young girls and women. Hell who hasn’t! Society teaches you at a young age that people’s perception of you is everything. Society portrays this image through MEDIA. Examples are, BOOKS, MAGAZINES, TELEVISION and MUSIC. It’s all fine and dandy BUT there is more to life than MEDIA and CELEBRITIES, with their images  they have to protect. Don’t get it twisted I love music, reading and television. However, don’t you think there should be an age limit to sharing certain things. What happen to PG rated and the actual news.

Yes it is 2012 and technology is broadening day by day, but this is why we need to be even more careful than before. There are children out their who may not have parents to tell them, it’s just entertainment, or they are good enough by being themselves or teach children how they can make a difference. Children just don’t understand yet, because they have not gone through life experiences enough yet. Those who are women that have, need to set boundaries. I am young myself and I have made many mistakes because i didn’t know the repercussions and I didn’t know who exactly who i was at the time. Now I know that certain experiences that I went through made me the intelligent, sophisticated, loyal and beautiful woman I am today. I also know that I was raised by a wonderful mother and father who were and still are great parents.

When you’re a child you don’t recognize the good, you only see that bad, when you don’t get your way, until you get older and realize life is not so bad, things just take time. When time is due you will shine. However these images of women and men that daughters, sons, little cousins, nephews, nieces and even young mothers and fathers today look up to are just not very inspiring or motivating. Now, I know I said to be your self and be confident but there are just some things that need to be left unsaid and unseen, if you know what I mean… It’s okay to have sex, its okay to be sexy and its okay to dance and rap and sing about whatever, but there is a time and place to do “whatever” and on national television and on the streets and radio just is not the place.

Back than children acted their age and women did just the same. I feel like this day in age, things have reversed because, once again PEOPLE ARE TRYING TO PORTRAY SOMETHING THEY ARE NOT. As well, too much of our business is being displayed as if its everyone’s problem. Everyone is trying to be like everyone else because personal business is made public but why are other people’s small problems important. There are bigger things going on than twitter and Facebook likes. There are bigger things in life besides uploading a picture of your beautiful and handsome faces, while you’re in your room bored. It’s 2012 and we are free, we are living and we are growing, WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE BECAUSE THERE ARE STILL BIGGER ISSUES GOING IN AMERICA  AND AROUND THE WORLD?

FYI: I know I do have a blog which is also a type of media and I know I sometimes display certain personal issues that I go through but they are topics that I choose to display and talk about because I know it can make a difference in someone and it can positively affect certain people, but I will have you know that blogging is not my only focus. I will have a business degree by 2013 that I’m working on now and that is my main priority because I made a choice to better myself. I made a choice to hold myself accountable by my sharing my thoughts, while juggling college classes because I’m able to and it is something that is positive. I don’t plan to waste time, because life is short and I hope my readers and followers don’t plan to either. Moral of the post is to follow your dreams and do it with confidence in YOU, but don’t forget where you came from. And even when you remember, give back because every success story has someone who has helped them get to where they are today.

Spill the beans

successlabtv

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Haley Nicole A Healthy Narcissist

Relationships, Sex, Love and all that

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Metamorphosis of Letters

Touch and transform lives through letters

5 Things to Do Today

If you always do what you always did then you always get what you always got

Putney Farm

Get some good food. Cook it. Share with friends. Have a cocktail.

CRASH Leadership

the power of people moving in the same direction

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

style scripture

the holy guide to all things fashion

akaHIPHOP.com

Dedicated to Hip Hop and Freshness

disastermapping

Mapping Effective Approaches to Disaster Management Challenges

The Crazy Nigerian

...crazy stories, crazy pictures, crazy videos

Support

WordPress.com Support

OSGC Educational Resources Blog

An archive of educational resources for students and educators

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

